Astro Meteorology V  



Rains lashed Trichur at around 0500 AM initiating the rainy Njattuvelas. It normally starts to rain from Karthika Njattuvela onwards and then fierce rains are expected from May 29th onwards when the Sun transits Rohini, Mrigasira, Punarvasu and Pushya.

The heavens are murky now, at about 0900 AM and there is no sign of the Sun. But then rains will accelerate and reach their crescendo during Mrigasira, Aridra, Punarvasu and Pushya Njattuvelas.

The Kala Varsha or Edava Pathi ( Half of sidereal Taurus, Sun entering 15th degree of Taurus )  normally hits the Andamans on May 20th, Bombay on June 10th and Kolkotta on June 8th. This time Edava Pathi  seems to be delayed in the Andamans but we expect normal rains this season.

The land gets heated faster than the Sea and cool winds come from the Indian Ocean, pick up moisture and pour over India, particularly the 825 km Malabar Coast. This is Edava Pathi, when Sun enters the Half or 15th degree Libra. 

Kerala receives 2500 mm rains every year and about 1500 mm during Kala Varsha or Edava Pathi. 600 mm during the  Thula Varsha and about 400 mm rains during summer grace Kerala, making Kerala a green Paradise !

All have welcomed these rains as it is a big relief from the blistering heat. Yesterday temperature was around 38 degrees and many working under the Sun were cursing the horrific heat. Kerala is situated at about 12 degrees North of the Equator and is known as the Torrid or the Tropical Zone. The climate is never cold. And Rains neutrallise the torrid heat of this tropical zone. The entire Malabar coast of 825 kms is graced by the three Monsoons, SW, NE and summer monsoon !

The cold winds from the Indian Ocean should have gone to Madras, but because of the Coriolis Force of the earth, it is deflected onto the Malabar coast. Madras on the other hand do not get the Edava Pathi  and has to contend with the Thula Varsha. She receives around 1000 mm of rains from the Thula Varsha, which starts when the Sun enters the First Point of Sidereal Libra ( Thula Varsha ). Unfortunately Madras does not get the benefit of the Kala Varsha. 


The Hindu Lunar Year is computed from the  Lunisolar Zero Point. The First New Moon is the Equinoctial New Moon ( Mar 28 in 2017 ). It initiates the First Lunar Month, Chaitra.


First New Moon - Chaitra
Second New Moon - Vaisakha
Third New Moon - Jyeshta
Fourth New Moon - Ashada
Fifth New Moon - Sravana
Sixth New Moon - Bhadrapada
Seventh New Moon - Aswina
Eighth New Moon - Karthika
Ninth New Moon -  Margasheersha
Tenth New Moon - Pousha
Eleventh New Moon - Magha
Tweflth New Moon - Phalguna