Vedic Astrology Lesson 53   

 The Zodiac Strength Analysis Method


In Sanskrit, Samjna means a name given to a planet. There are Seven Samjnas for planets.

There are Seven Names of Planets

Sampoorna Maximum powerful
Poorna Medium powerful
Riktha Powerless
Avarohee Descending
Madhya Medium
Arohinee Ascending
Adhama Vicious

         Planets in the Sixfold Strength    

     Knowest thou not that planets called Vibala                          
     Are planets  weak in  the  Sixfold Strength?                         
     Cancellation  Bhanga they cause of Raja Yoga                         
     And are harmful in their nature; Learned One!                        
     This program checks for weak planets; weak in Shad Bala              
     Know that Weak Planets cause Raja Yoga Bhanga                        
     Exalted with other strengths is Sampoorna called;  best              
     Devoid of other strengths is Poorna; of medium strength              
     Below its average strength in Sixfold is Riktha;   weak              
     Use these terms for correct prognostication O Noble One!   


Samyak Balina Swa Thunga Bhage
Sampoorna Bala varjithascha Riktha
Neechamsa Gathsaya Satru bhage
New Page 7


Jneyanishta phala dasa prasoothau
Fall from Exaltation is Avarohee
In friendly houses, she is Madhya
Rise from Debilitation is Arohinee
In debilitation, She is Adhama
Bhrishtasya Thungath Avarohi Samjna
Madhya Bhaveth Sa Suhruth Uchhabhamse
Arohinee nimna parichyuthasya
Neechari Bhageth Adhama Bhaveth Sa


These are the points gained and their Samjnas, in the Sample Horoscope given on the Home Page of Eastro Vedica


NAME          Pts  NATURE   SAMJNA                       
SUN 469 Strong Sampoorna
MOON 362 Strong Poorna
MARS 289 Weak Riktha
MERC 432 Strong Poorna
JUP 540 Strong Sampoorna 
VEN 411 Strong Sampoorna
SAT 404 Strong Sampoorna


Certain planets have to get a minimum certain points or otherwise they are deemed Riktha or Weak. In the Sample Horoscope, Mars is Rikhta or Weak, attaining only 289 shashtiamsas. The Sun and Jupiter are strong with 469 and 540 shashtiamsas.

So we have to go in for this method, while evaluating horoscopes, to know which planet is powerful and which is not. Shadbala or the Sixfold Source of Planetary Strength is a great method and only if we follow this Zodiac Strength Analysis can we be able to know the total planetary strength. Most of the astrologers look at the Rasi and Amsa positions to determine planetary strength. This is merely superficial and that is why many predictions go wrong.

The two Sanskrit verses quoted above are from Hora, by Varaha. We have translated them as best as we could. A planet may look powerful in the Rasi chart. but he may not be powerful in the Sixfold, in Shad Bala. On the other hand, he may appear weak in Rasi, but may be powerful in the Sixfold.


The Importance of the Zodiac Strength Analysis Method in Horoscopy

The dasa of a Riktha or Weak planet will be fraught with problems - loss of wealth, unnecessary wanderings and journeys, danger to self and destruction to Guru figures  ( sthanabramsa dhanakshayatma vipado gurvadi nasam thada ). Such a planet's reign  is Anishta Phalada - sa dasa anishta phalada.

On the contrary, a Sampoorna planet will do good and such a planet's rule is Atheeve Guna Phalada - he will shower his blessings in the form of wealth and fame.

If a planet is Poorna or of medium strength, his dasa will be mixed - Sa Dasa Mishra Phalda. Good and bad experiences will characterise his period.



New Page 1