Mathematical Astrology V    

   Solstitial Strength ( Ayana Bala )

Evolutionary Philosophy & Astrology has it that each soul is in a particular
state, which can be discerned by divine vision. Divine vision, x-ray like,
penetrates  into all matter. It has center everywhere, circumference
nowhere. Knowing the soul-state of the  client, the divine knower
prescribes spiritual practices for the client's evolution  to Godhood.

Kranti - Declination

Celestial bodies move northwards and southwards of the Celestial
Equator. Declination has been defined as the angular distance from the
Celestial Equator. If the declination is North, then it is regarded as plus
and if it is South, it is regarded as minus.

It is observed that the Sun cuts the Celestial Equator twice yearly, one in
March and the other in September. The declination is always measured in
tropical degrees, that is reckoned from the Vernal Equinoctial Point that
moves. Add to the Sidereal longitudes the Ayanamsa and you get the
tropical longitudes of planets. This has to be done before their Krantis
or declinations are found out.

vedic astrology lesson 42,,hindu astrology software consulatncy and research

After cutting the Celestial Equator on March 21, ( Aries ingress or Mesha
Sankrama ), the Sun moves northwards and his positive declination
gradually increases till it is 23 degrees and 27 minutes. Now the Sun is
at the last point of Gemini or 90 degrees from tropical Aries. 24 degrees
Uttara Kranti ( north declination ) means that the Sun has reached the
northernmost point of the Northern Celestial Hemisphere. Then his
declination falls gradually along with his Cancer ingress till it is 0
degress when the Sun will have crossed the Celestial Equator to start
his southerly course. This is the time of the Libra ingress. Now he will
have South Declinaton or Dakshina Kranti. His negative declination grad-
ually increases till it is 23 degrees 27 minutes when the Sun will have
reached 270 degrees or the last point of Sagittarius. Now its Capricorn
ingress begins. The Declinations decreases gradually till it is again Zero
when he will have crossed the Celestial Equator to start his northerly
course. Zero Declination is the Equinox.

Determination of Kranti

Maximum declination is 23 degrees 27 minutes and this was rounded to
24 by Vedic savants. We are enumerating a new set of rules for finding
the Krantis of planets

First convert the sidereal longitudes into their respective tropical
longitudes  Find out their Bhujas.

Bhujamsa - Degrees traversed by the planet from the Equinoctail


Now Bhujamsa has been defined as radius multiplied by
modern sine.

The Bhuja equation is like this

The Cirlce of Light (Zodiac) is divided into 4 parts of 90 degrees each.
If Bhuja is in the First 90 degrees, then the bhuja is the same. If Bhuja is
in the second 90 degrees, then Bhuja is 180 - Bhuja. If Bhuja is in the
Third 90 degrees, then Bhuja = Bhuja - 180 and if in the Fourth 90
degrees, then Bhuja = 360 - Bhuja.

This will give their distance from the First Point  of Aries or the First
Point of Libra. At the end of the first 15 degrees  ( from one of the two
equinoctial points ) the declination of a planet is 362 minutes of arc; at
the end of the second 15 degrees it is greater by 341 mins of arc;
ie when the planet has traversed 30 degrees ( from one of the two
equinoctial points ) its declination is 362 + 341, equalling 703 mins of
arc or 11 degrees and 43 mins; at the end of the third 15 degrees, it is
furthur increased by 299 mins; at the end of the fourth 15 degrees, it is
still greater by 236 mins; at the end of the fifth 15 degrees it is
increased by 150 mins more; and at the end of the sixth 15 degrees,
it is furthur increased by 52 mins.

First 15 degrees - 362 mins
Second "            - 341
Third                  - 299
Fourth                - 236
Fifth                   - 150
Sixth                  - 52

Summing up, we can say that the maximum declination of 24
degrees is reached when the planet has advanced 90 degrees from any
one of the equinoctial points. Declination is measured  as one 90 degrees
quadrant is divided by six equal divisions of 15 degrees.

Uttara and Dakshina Kranti

A planet has Uttara Kranti when its tropical longitude is in between 1 and

A planet has Dakshina Kranti when its tropical longitude is in between 180
and 360

The Bhuja is divided 5 and the quotient represents the number of divisions
already passed from the equinoctial point. The remainder gives the number of
degrees in the next division for which the proportionate declination may be

As 15 degrees ; declination indicated by the particular division ; the
remainder degree ; the required declination ( in that division ). This
amount of declination must be added to the amount due to the number of
divisions already passed & the total declination of the planet is obtained.

Determination of Ayana Bala

The astro scholar Kesava has given the formula for Ayana Bala

Ayana Bala = 24 degrees + Kranti
                    _________________     *60


In the case of Venus,  Mars & Jupiter their north declinations are additive
and south subtractive.

In the case of  Saturn and Moon their north declinations are subtractive
and south additive

For Mercury, both are additive. For Sun, the Ayanabala is always doubled.

See, Mathematical Astrology is not so easy, as people suppose !