Mathematical Astrology IV  

                                        vedic astrology lesson 41,,hindu astrology software consulatncy and research

                         Temporal Strength ( Kala Bala )

Vedic Astrology was evolved by the Seers as an aid to Self Actualisation.
Evolutionary Astrology can divine the Soul State of the native, based on the
Evolution of Consciousness, which is the basic Theory of Evolutionary
Philosophy. So based on the Soul State, the astro scholar can advise the
client what techniques are to be adopted for both material & spiritual

Evolutionary Philosophy

Behind the evolution of the species, there is an evolution of Consciousness.

The individual evolves from Becoming to Being.

Evolutionary Astrology

The Soul State can be discerned from the horoscope by an astro scholar and

he can advise the native to gain both material & spiritual progress.

Ahargana - the no of days elapsed from Creation

The number of terrestrial days passed from any Epoch is called Ahargana  &
the days reckoned from the Day of Creation is called Srishtyadi Ahargana.
This method of calculation is given in the master astronomical treatise, the
Surya Siddhanta, First Chapter. In order to determine the Abdesa ( lord of
Year), Masesa ( Lord of Month ) & Varesa ( lord of the day of week ), this
Ahargana has to be calculated.

The Abdesa

The lord who presides over the year is called Abdesa.

He is the planet that rules over the weekday on which the year begins.

When the duration of the year which is 360 years is divided by 7, we get a
remainder of 3 & a quotient of 51 and the quotients shows the number of

To find out the Abdesa

1) Find out  no of days passed / 360. Multiply by 3. Add 1 and divide by 7.
Remainder to be counted from Sunday. This gives the weekday and its lord is
the Abdesa.

The Masesa

The Masesa is the planet that rules the weekday of the commencement of the
month of birth.

The duration of the astro month is divided by 7, the remainder got is 2 and
quotient 4.

To find out the Masesa

1) Find out the no of days passed from the beginning of creation
2) Divide it by 30
3) Multiply quotient * 2. Add 1. Divide Total by 6. Reject quotient.
Remainer counted from Sunday. Its lord is Masea


This is the planet who is the lord of the day of the week.

To find out the Varesa

1) Find out the no of days passed from the beginning of creation
2) Divide it by 7
3) Remainder to be counted from Sunday. Its lord is the Varesa

Date of Epoch

The date of the Epoch selected is 02 05 1827, Wednesday.

The Ahargana on the date of that Epoch is 714, 404, 096, 641 days.

This when divided by 7 leaves a reminder of 4 suggesting that the Epoch
falls on Wednesday. Therefore our Epoch begins on WED 02051827.

To find out the Ahargana, in Visual Fox Pro write this formula

Ahargana = ctod("mdate") - ctod("02/05/1827")

Abda Bala - Year Strength

The lord of the Year Birth is given  a value of 15 Shashtiamsas as his Abda
Bala or Year Strength.

Masa Bala - Month Strength

30 Shashtiamsas are given to the lord of the Month.

Vara Bala - Weekday Strength

45 Shashtiamsas are given to the lord of the Day of Birth.

Hora Bala - Hour Strength

Since a day is 24 Hours, a day is divided by 24 and each Hora or Hour is
ruled by a planet. The Planetary Hour Lord is given a value of 60
Shashtiamsas as his Hora Bala.

Hours or Horas

One Hour is 15 degrees and there are 24 Hours or Horas in a day.

( Ardha Rasi Bhaveth Hora Chathurvimshathi Smrithah )

The Sequential Order of Weekdays

The Order of Weekdays are presided by Sun ( Sunday), Moon ( Monday ), Mars
( Tuesday ), Mercury ( Wednesday ), Jupiter ( Thursday ), Venus ( Friday ) &
Saturn ( Saturday ). This sequential order, Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury,
Jupiter, Venus & Saturn, is the order of Weekdays. Actually this is obtained
from Planetary Hours or Kala Hora !

Planetary Hours

Planetary Hours are a Day divided by Twelve
The lord of the weekday is the Planetary Hour lord
From Sunset onwards, the fifth from that lord
The Sixth lord in week order is the next planetary hour lord !

(Dina Dwadasamso Matha Kalahora
Pathi Tasya Poorvasya Varadhi natha
Thatha Shashta Shashta Kramena Tharesham
Nishayam Thu Vareshwarath Panchamadya )

A Day divided by 12 gives Planetary Hours ( Kala Hora )

The First Hour is presided by the lord of that Day ( viz On Friday, Freya,
Venus )
From Eve, the fifth from that lord of the day.

On a Sunday, the First Hour is presided by the Sun. Next planetary hour is
presided by the fifth lord from Sunday ( Friday, Venus ) and so on.

Sun, Venus, Mercury, Moon, Saturn, Jupiter, Mars in sequential order , are
the Kala Hora lords.

Hence we get the formula for Kala Hora

( Arka Shukra Budhaschandra Manda Jeeva Dharasutha Kramena Kalahoresa )

So on a day the First Hour is ruled by the lord of the day. In other words,
in a day there are 24 hours and 21 hours will pass ruled by these lords The
22nd hour, the 23rd and the 24th will be ruled by the First, Second and
Third rulers and on the next day the First Hour will be ruled by the 4th
lord. Hence from Kala Hora sequential order only do we get the sequential
order - Sunday, Monday, Tuesday etc.

The lord of the Planetary Hour, Kala Hora, gets 60 Shashtiamsas.
Solstice Strength

Each planet will be located either North or South of the Celestial Equator.
As a result he gets Solstice Strength or Ayana Bala.


A planet moves southwards or northwards from the Celestial Equator. The
angular distance from the Celestial Equator is called Declination. If a
planet is located on the Northern Celestial Hemisphere, it is plus and minus
if vice versa.

During the Vernal Equinox ( The First Point of Aries ), the declination of
the Sun is Zero and his gross RA ( Right Ascension ) is also Zero. During
the Summer Solstice ( The First Point of Cancer ), his declination is +23
degrees 27 minutes & gross R A 90. During the Autumnal Equinox ( The First
Point of Libra ), his declination is Zero  & his gross RA 180 degrees.
During the Winter Solstice ( The First Point of Capricorn ), his declination
is -23 degrees & 27 minutes and his gross RA is 270 !

In other words, the Sun's declination will progressively increase from Aries
to Cancer, decrease from Cancer to Libra, increase from Libra to Capricorn &
then decrease from Capricorn to Aries !